East Bay View (a blog about several things)

now 98% free of substantive content

Sunday, February 15, 2015

Fave albums 2015

As of 10/31/15:
  1. Kendrick Lamar: To Pimp a Butterfly
  2. Chris Lightcap's Bigmouth: Epicenter
  3. Karantamba: Ndigal (1984/2012)
  4. Mindtroll: EP #4 (2014)
  5. James McMurtry: Complicated Game
  6. Parkay Quarts: Content Nausea (2014)
  7. Terakaft: Tenere (Alone)
  8. Jazmine Sullivan: Reality Show
  9. Duduvudu: The Gospel According to Dudu Pukwana (2014)
  10. Rudresh Mahathappa: Bird Calls
  11. Heems: Eat Pray Thug
  12. Susanne Sundfor: Ten Love Songs
  13. Velkro: Don't Wait for the Revolution (2014)
  14. D'Angelo & the Vanguard: Black Messiah (2014)
  15. Tami Neilson: Dynamite! (2014)
  16. Pharoah & the Underground: Spiral Mercury (2014)
  17. Tami Neilson: The Kitchen Table Sessions II (2011)
  18. Red Velvet: Ice Cream Cake mini-album
  19. DJ N*gga Fox: Noite e Dia EP
  20. Courtney Barnett: Sometimea I Sit and Think...
  21. John Wizards (2013)
  22. Ata Kak: Obaa Sima
  23. Matana Roberts: Coin Coin Chapter Three: River Run Thee
  24. Lydia Loveless: Boy Crazy EP (2013)
  25. Morlot/Seattle Symphony: John Luther Adams: Become Ocean (2014)
  26. Earl Sweatshirt: I Don't Like Shit, I Don't Go Outside
  27. Miles Davis: At Newport 1973
  28. Waclaw Zimpel To Tu Orchestra: Nature Moves (2014)
  29. Sleater-Kinney: No Cities to Love
  30. Allo Darlin': We Come from the Same Place (2014)
  31. Vince Staples: Summertime 06
  32. Christian Gerhaher/Gerold Huber: Nachtviolen: Schubert Lieder (2014)
  33. Vince Staples: Shyne Coldchain II (2014)
  34. Dawn Richard: Blackheart
  35. Miguel: Wildheart
  36. Rae Sremmurd: Sremmlife
  37. Ufomammut: Ecate
  38. Nicki Minaj: The Pinkprint (2014)
Bubbling under:

Marilyn Crispell & Gerry Hemingway: Table of Changes
Desaparecidos: Payola
Elder: Lore
Joe Fiedler Trio: I'm In
Gain: Hawwah mini-album
Matt Jaffe & the Distractions: Blast Off EP
Oliver Lake & William Parker: To Roy
Mbongwana Star: From Kinshasa
Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness (2014)
Ashley Monroe: The Blade
Mr. Mitch: Don't Leave EP (2014)
Willie Nelson & Merle Haggard: Django and Jimmie
Willie Nelson & Sister Bobbie: December Days (2014)
Paris: Pistol Politics
Protoje: Ancient Future
Rainbow: Innocent EP
Frank Turner: Positive Songs for Negative People
Lena Willikins: RA.421 (2014)
Robert Wyatt: Different Every Time (2014)
Years & Years: Communion
Yo La Tengo: Stuff Like That There
Young Thug: Slime Season

Thursday, February 05, 2015

Rolling 2015 songs of the year

updated 6/30/15
1. K. Michelle: "Build a Man"
2. Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness: "High Dive"
3. Bigbang: "Loser"
4. Willie Nelson, Sister Bobbie: "Laws of Nature"
5. Sam Hunt: "Take Your Time"
6. Kendrick Lamar: "The Blacker the Berry"
7. Alice Smith, Sam Dew, Dave Sitek: "Shell Shock"
8. Mindtroll: "Boss Cat"
9. Rudresh Mahanthappa: "Chillin'"
10. Tami Neilson: "Cry Over You"
11. Chris Lightcap's Bigmouth: "Down East"
12. Floating Points: "King Bromeliad"
13. The Mountain Goats: "The Legend of Chavo Guerrero"
14. SHINee: "Woof Woof"
15. James McMurtry: "Long Island Sound"
16. Karantamba: "Na Dinding Fatty"
17. Chris Lightcap's Bigmouth: "All Tomorrow's Parties"
18. Meek Mill, Big Sean, ASAP Ferg: "B Boy"
19. Miguel, Wale: "Coffee"
20. Grandma Sparrow: "Nap Time: Twelve-Tone Lullaby"
Kendrick Lamar: "Momma"
Ishwana: "Restraining Order"
Future Brown, Tink: "Wanna Party" (remix)
Gesu No Kiwami Otome: "Watashi Igai Watashi Ja Nai No"
Matt Jaffe & the Distractions: "Put Your Finger in the Socket"
Victor Manuelle: "Que Suenen los Tambores"
Ata Kak: "Daa Nyinaa"
Speedy Ortiz: "The Graduates"
One Direction: "Night Changes"
Duduvudu: "Kweleentonga"
Robyn: "Tell You (Today)"
Lydia Loveless: "Lover's Spat"
Lil Mama: "Sausage"
Allo Darlin': "Half Heart Necklace"
Jazmine Sullivan: "Mascara"
Lil Herb, Lil Reese: "On My Soul"
Killer Mike: "Ric Flair"
Courtney Barnett: "Pedestrian at Best"
Amber, Taeyeon: "Shake That Brass"
BTS: "Converse High"
Dawn Richard: "Swim Free"
MC Bin Laden, MC 2K: "Passinho do Farao"
Kink: "Existence"
Ciara: "I Bet"
Velkro: "Pastime"
Dead Sara: "Mona Lisa"
Gyedu-Blay Ambolley: "Blakk Man Dey Suffer"
Julion Alvarez y Su Norteno Banda: "El Amor De Su Vida"
Dead Sara: "Radio One Two"
Feedtime: "Flatiron"